Skip to main content

Shadowlands Covenants and Best Covenant for Each Class


Ever since Shadowlands was first released, WoW fans have been fascinated by one feature. This, of course, is Shadowlands' covenants that are an integral part of WoW's 8th expansion. And that's why we've created the ultimate Shadowlands covenant guide out there!

It's safe to say that these covenants can be considered the focal point of this expansion. I say this with all due respect to the brilliant level squish that brings the level cap back to 60 as it was during vanilla.

But people ask many questions about the Shadowlands' covenants, and we're here to try to answer them!

What are the Shadowlands Covenants?

The Shadowlands covenants represent the four new zones in this new continent. Each covenant comes with a unique campaign associated with specific gear and particular abilities – some that are universal and others that are determined by your character's class.

These are the four covenants that you'll find in this expansion:

  • Night Fae (main realm – Ardenweald)
  • Kyrian (main realm – Bastion)
  • Necrolord (main realm – Maldraxxus)
  • Venthyr (main realm – Revendreth)

When you hit the "new" level cap (60), you'll gain access to covenant-specific rewards, abilities, transmogs, etc. But before you join a covenant, you'll be slowly introduced to them in relation to the lore.

How Do You Join a Covenant in Shadowlands?

To join one of the four Shadowlands covenants, you'll have to reach level 60. Then you can choose the one that appeals to you the most, as this will enable you to experience the next part of this expansion's storyline.

Once you've chosen, you'll start doing various tasks to prove your worth to your particular covenant. Thus, you'll engage in a specific storyline and campaign directly related to your chosen covenant.

And this is where Shadowlands comes on top of Battle for Azeroth because, in BfA, you could only try two specific campaigns. But in the new expansion, there are four factions (covenants) to choose from.

In a nutshell, your choice of a covenant will directly impact your gameplay, especially since changing covenants comes at a price.

How Do You Discover the Covenants When You First Enter the Shadowlands?

This happens by default, as once you enter the Shadowlands, you'll have to go through the entire storyline of this new continent/world. There's a natural progression within the Shadowlands narrative that begins at The Maw.

Then you'll have to escape this dreaded zone, and this is where your journey throughout the four covenants of Shadowlands truly begins. With that being said, here is the order of the zones when you kick off at level 50:

  • Bastion
  • Maldraxxus
  • Ardenweald
  • Revendreth

And once you reach the level cap, you get to the point where you may choose between the four covenants.

What are the Signature and Class Abilities of the Shadowlands Covenants?

Each character gets a total of 2 special abilities related to the selected covenant:

  • Covenant signature ability – This is the typical (signature) ability across the particular covenant.
  • Covenant class ability – This is the class-specific ability.

You can't choose between signature and class abilities because the former is shared across all covenant members. At the same time, the latter depends on your class.

Okay, let's now take a closer look at the unique abilities of each covenant!

Signature Abilities

  • Kyrian: Summon Steward
  • Venthyr: Door of Shadows
  • Necrolord: Fleshcraft
  • Night Fae: Soulshape

Covenant Class Abilities





Night Fae

Death Knight

Shackle the Unworthy

Swarming Mist

Abomination Limb

Death’s Due

Demon Hunter

Elysian Decree

Sinful Brand

Fodder to the Flame

The Hunt


Kindred Spirits

Ravenous Frenzy

Adaptive Swarm

Convoke the Spirits


Resonating Arrow

Flayed Shot

Death Chakram

Wild Spirits


Radiant Spark

Mirrors of Torment


Shifting Power


Weapons of Order

Fallen Order

Bonedust Brew

Faeline Stomp


Divine Toll

Ashen Hollow

Vanquisher’s Hammer

Blessing of the Seasons


Boon of the Ascended


Unholy Nova

Fae Guardians


Echoing Reprimand


Serrated Bone Spike



Vesper Totem

Chain Harvest

Primordial Wave

Fae Transfusion


Scouring Tithe

Impending Catastrophe

Decimating Bolt

Soul Rot


Spear of Bastion


Conqueror’s Banner

Ancient Aftershock

What are the Benefits/Rewards Related to Covenants?

These are the most amazing rewards across all four covenants:

  • World benefits like making your own abomination to help you during battles.
  • Unique cloak appearance for each covenant.
  • Covenant-specific armor and weapon sets.
  • Upgradable mounts.

What is the Best Covenant for My Class?

Well, that depends on your build and what you want to do. The best covenant for a Frost Death Knight will be different if the player wants to focus on raiding, doing Mythic+ runs, or Torghast. Switching covenants can be a pain, especially if you haven't unlocked the feature. Plus, that's wasted time going to covenant leaders and swapping allegiances.

Alternatively, just go with whatever suits your fancy. All guides only give suggestions, and it's up to the reader, you, to decide whether to follow them or not. The most important thing is to enjoy the skills and other benefits you get from them! There aren't any right or wrong answers to this question, and you're the one to decide what is best for yourself.

Go Join a Covenant!

There's no doubt that the Shadowlands covenants are one of the most intriguing parts of the gameplay in World of Warcraft's 8th expansion. Each of these four new zones offers a unique approach to the storyline, and you're also getting plenty of neat covenant-specific rewards. And the great thing is that you now know what covenants are, how to join them, the specific abilities, and more!

So, what's your favorite covenant and why? Let us know by leaving a comment in the comment section below!

WoW Gold Offers

Based on the total ratings of 4286 orders in the past year
See Latest Reviews
Power Seller
Delivery: 24 Hours
$0.123 / K Gold
Best price among sellers with a fair amount of ratings and feedback score.
Delivery: 24 Hours
$0.080 / K Gold
Delivery: 24 Hours
$0.130 / K Gold
Delivery: 20 Minutes
$0.139 / K Gold
Power Seller
Delivery: 24 Hours
$0.143 / K Gold

WoW Classes & Builds

PlayerAuctions' WoW Marketplace